Certified IT Specialist (CITS®)


CITS - Certi­fied IT Specialist

CITS is the second course in the EPI IT Training Framework. The CITS course is aligned with competence level-3 (Sr Professional / Manager) of the e-CF.  CITS is a 3-day course designed to teach the skills, knowledge and competencies required of the modern IT specialist working at the senior professional, team-leader, supervisor or management level in IT management.  Candidates who successfully complete the course and pass the CITS exam will be awarded the globally recognised CITS credential. This will prove that they have gained the competences required to supervise/lead/manage IT teams successfully, and deliver added value to their organisations.

Need further assistance? Contact us for further information.


Intended Audience

This course is most suited for IT professionals who have a need to understand the current requirements and core competences for managing IT in mission-critical environments. It is best suited for participants who have between two and four years of actual working experience in IT, with knowledge of systems, network and/or applications, service desk operations and/or IT professionals working in the position of team leader/supervisor/ manager in any area of IT. This includes those individuals working in the fi­eld of sales and consultancy with solution providers.


To gain the most from this course, the participant should have two to four years of actual working experience in IT.

European e-Competence Framework (e-CF)

The European e-Competence Framework (e-CF) provides a reference of 40 competences as required and applied at the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) workplace, using a common language for competences, skills and proficiency levels.

It enables the identification of skills, competences and competence levels that may be required to successfully perform duties and fulfill responsibilities related to the ICT workplace. The widespread adoption of the e-CF by companies and organisations throughout Europe has started to increase the transparency, mobility and efficiency of ICT sector related human resources. More information can be found at www.ecompetences.eu

The TOP 3 Challenges for Senior IT Professionals/Teamleads/Managers/Consultants


Course Benefits


After completion of the course the participant will be able to:

  • Provide guidance and implementation for IT strategy as set by senior IT and business management
  • Select and manage staff, implement training programs, career plan development and job rotation programs
  • Select, evaluate and negotiate vendors using RFI, RFP and selection criteria
  • Provide guidance for developing, testing and implementing business applications
  • Manage and/or assist in IT project management
  • Design and implement service management processes for incident, problem and change management
  • Understand the need for business continuity and design the business continuity plan
  • Review and implement information security practices and controls
  • Assist and initiate risk management practices
  • Understand and select new technologies such as cloud computing, big data, Internet of Things and social media to support business change demands
  • Select strategies for information management
  • Measure and improve quality of IT services

Course Syllabus

IT Strategy

  • The need for Information Technology
  • Enterprise architecture
  • Service catalogue
  • Service level management
  • Sustainable development

IT Organisation

  • Personnel need
  • Roles and responsibilities
  • Sourcing
  • Selection process
  • Hiring staff
  • Managing staff
  • Career planning
  • Training / job rotation
  • Performance appraisal
  • Staff departures

Vendor Selection / Management

  • The importance of vendors
  • Vendor selection
  • Request For Information (RFI)
  • Request For Proposal (RFP)
  • Proposal evaluation
  • Vendor reference checks
  • Contract negotiation
  • Contract management
  • Vendor management
  • Re-compete vendors

Project Management

  • Methodologies
  • Project organisation
  • Starting up / initiating
  • Planning / initiation a project
  • Risk
  • Quality
  • Scope
  • Work / Product Breakdown Structure
  • PERT diagram / Gantt chart
  • Cost
  • Communication

Application Management

  • Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)
  • Software Quality Assurance (SQA)
  • Requirements
  • Development
  • Testing
  • Adoption (implementation)
  • Maintenance

Service Management

  • Incident management
  • Problem management
  • Change management

Business Continuity Management

  • Standards and guidelines
  • Objectives
  • Context
  • Interested parties
  • Scope
  • Roles and responsibilities
  • Resources and competences
  • Awareness and communication
  • Documentation
  • Business Impact Analysis

Risk Management

  • Guidelines
  • Context establishment
  • Identification
  • Analysis
  • Evaluation
  • Treatment
  • Communication
  • Monitoring and control

Information Security Management

  • Standards
  • Confidentiality
  • Integrity
  • Availability
  • Controls types
  • Guideline for controls selection
  • Control categories
  • Information security awareness
  • Security incident response

Information and Knowledge Management

  • Information management
  • Data management
  • Information management - technologies
  • Business intelligence
  • Data management - technologies
  • Best practices in data governance
  • Pitfalls in data governance

Business Change Management

  • Business change
  • Frameworks, models and techniques
  • Needs identification
  • Cloud computing
  • Social media / digital marketing
  • Big data
  • Internet of Things (IoT)

Quality Management

  • Standards, guidelines and frameworks
  • Objectives
  • Activities
  • Services review
  • Customer feedback
  • Customer survey
  • Key Performance Indicators (KPI)
  • Metrics
  • Scorecards and reports
  • Quality register



It is a 75-minute closed-book exam, with 50 multiple-choice questions. The candidate requires a minimum of 35 correct answers to pass the exam.  Candidates who successfully pass the exam will receive the official ‘Certified Information Technology Specialist’ certificate. Download the exam guide here.

The CITS certificate is valid for 3 years, after which recertification is required.  Please see the EPI Recertification Programme for available options.



CITS is world-wide accredited by EXIN.


More Information  

CITS English Brochure  |  CITS Spanish Brochure  |  CITS Fact Sheet 


Find classes near your location

EPI Data Center Framework

EPI Data Centre Operations Standard (DCOS)

EPI Data Centre Conpetence Framework

EPI Data Center Training Framework

IT Training Framework

Make enquiry
Send me updates
Copyright EPI Singapore 2019      | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions